The canned dog food caused my dog to have diarrhea?

3 Feb

2015. Feb. 3

My dog, Big Steve, got pancreatitis last year, due to some unknown cause. Since then, we had to give him prescribed canned dog food. I wrote about it here. We are still giving him the prescribed canned dog food (GI low fat), but since his pancreatitis seemed to have improved, we decided to try some new food. We started to give him Trader Joe’s canned food. I wrote about it here.  He loved it, so we’ve been giving him a combination of Trader Joe’s canned dog food and prescribed canned food since then.

One day I found the place that I can order GI low fat canned dog food online. Since GI low fat is prescribed canned dog food, we needed to send them a doctor’s note.  One day, I ordered GI low fat online, but after they took my order, they told me that they ran out of GI and they don’t even know when they will have it again. I didn’t know what that means, but we had to give him only Trader Joe’s canned food (chunky beef dinner) for a while.

We noticed that he’s been gassy since then and seemed like his stomach was bothering him.  His stool became really soft like diarrhea. One night, he even needed to go out to poop in the middle of the night. He had explosive diarrhea. Despite all of these conditions, he still had his usual appetite and acted normal. He barked at another dog on the street and sometimes ran around happily.

We weren’t sure what was the cause of these conditions at that time. Big Steve had been in this condition for weeks. Poor Big Steve…

One day, I suddenly realized that my dog’s fart smelled like the Trader Joe’s canned food(chunky beef dinner). We’ve been giving him Trader Joe’s canned food for months, and he never had any problems, but I decided to stop giving him Trader Joe’s canned food completely.

The next day, his stool became much better, and the day after that, he is completely recovered from all these bad conditions. No fart, no diarrhea anymore.

I wonder why this happened to my dog? Is this because of Trader Joe’s canned dog food? Or it’s just Trader Joe’s canned dog food are not going to work for my dog? But why suddenly? Or did Trader Joe’s changed how to produce the canned dog food? It’s a mystery to me…

4 Responses to “The canned dog food caused my dog to have diarrhea?”

  1. summermorris November 17, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

    That’s exactly what happened with our dog, a GSD (6.5 months old)! He seems fine sometimes but other times he has diarrhea with Trader Joe’s canned dog food. We’ve fed him the lamb, chicken & beef… and lately just beef and he’s had explosive diarrhea 😦 I’m not sure what other food to give him? I don’t wanna give him kibble, and we don’t want to feed him organic raw all the time ($$) although we have that too.

    What have you found that works as far as canned dog food? We tried dehydrated Honest Kitchen food which seemed pretty good with him, but he never had diarrhea he just pooped like 5x a day haha 🙂 That seemed excessive so I switched him – I attributed it to all the fiber in Honest Kitchen.

    Thoughts? We’re at a loss as to what to give our super healthy puppy! 🙂 Thanks.

    • Owner March 15, 2016 at 12:21 am #

      Dear summermorris

      Wow! Thank you so much for sharing your experience about this matter with us! 🙂
      I’m terribly sorry that I did not realized your comment until now!!

      I’m so happy to hear that your dog is doing really great now!!:)
      I know what you mean ($$). I never heard of the Honest Kitchen, but I’ll keep that brand’s name in mind. Since this happened to my dog, I don’t give him Trader Joe’s canned dog food anymore.
      Hope our dog is going to be happy and healthy for years to come!!

      • summermorris March 15, 2016 at 12:28 am #

        No problem! We’ve switched him to Canidae (grain free) & Evanger’s (kosher) brands & he’s loving both – NO issues at all! Best of luck to you with your pup 🙂

      • Owner March 15, 2016 at 12:44 am #

        Hi summermorris!! Thank you so much for your kind reply!:)
        Wow! Thank you so much for more information about food!!
        Awww…. I feel like I know why you need to switch food sometimes.My dog also could get tired of his same food all the time… 🙂
        Thanks again and best luck for you with your puppy too!!! 🙂

Leave a comment